Skip to content

The Bigger Picture

June 25, 2010

Not a typical day at the office for me today as I’m sitting on an airplane returning home from Dallas and the funeral of my dear brother in law. Saying goodbye to a loved one is never easy but it’s especially difficult when it comes as a surprise to everyone. To say that our family is hurt and saddened by this loss is only part of what I’m feeling right now.

Wow, .. what a heavy blog topic for a music company right? What does this have anything to do with my job  and what we’re trying to accomplish at our label? And to that I have to answer, … everything!

I can’t count the days I wonder about my purpose, … about what I’m truly meant to do on this Earth, … what my real value is, … what more there could be for me? There are so many days I admittedly come to the office feeling underwhelmed, overextended, overstimulated and even unfulfilled. But it’s days like this when loved ones are left behind grieving, that I’m reminded again how quickly our lives can come to an end. All that we strive for and hope to attain, … the next phase of life we hope to reach, .. the name we try to make for ourselves, in and of themselves all really mean nothing.

I say, ‘in and of themselves’ because apart from a greater purpose all these things we strive for are just temporary milestones, … we can’t take any of it with us. Once your time is up, your financial stature, your accolades, titles and positions all of a sudden don’t have much value, do they? So the question again is, … what I’m I here for? What more is there for me? What I learned about my brother in law today at the funeral and what I feel challenged by to apply towards my own life is what kind of hope does my life bring other people, (outside of what I do for a living?) Am I ultimately portraying an image of God, being light to a dark world? Am I living out a life of obedience in sharing the Gospel? Am I selfish or selfless? Does how I act represent what I believe? Am I a ‘talker’ or a ‘doer’? These are the questions I want to be asking of myself. These are the questions I want to wrestle with and ultimately what I want my life to reflect.

It’s unfortunate that sometimes it takes a tragedy to open our eyes to the bigger picture. And as heartbroken as I am by the loss of my brother in law, I’m thankful for the renewed vision I have for how I can be used by God on this planet. Yes I still have dreams and aspirations. Yes I have desires and vision of what more I’m capable of doing, but they’re all wrapped in a purpose bigger than just me. I guess it’d be safe to say that I want ‘who I am’ to speak louder than ‘what I do’.

So, for me and my job here at Centricity, … I’m honored to work with artists who’s songs reflect the desire of my heart. I don’t take it lightly that my job is to oversee the recording process of the songs that we hope change many lives. I see it more clearly now that these songs represent seeds of hope that can be planted in the hearts of so many generations. While artists careers will come and go, ‘singles positions on the charts’ will go up and down, sales of records will rise and fall, … the songs will live on forever. These songs are the artists legacy, … what they leave behind. I can only hope that my life leaves traces of hope that reach generations and are reflections of Gods work in my heart. Afterall, … this is what people remember. This is what people talk about once we’re gone right?

Death is a heavy thing. Thank God for hope beyond this life,  for grace and salvation and Heaven. Without it I don’t know how I could grieve. Already we’re seeing beautiful things coming out of  a life that ended too soon. If nothing more, one heart in particular has been changed forever.

What legacy can you leave behind? What impact can you have on other peoples lives? What kind of hope can you  help people find?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. diana blum permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:13 AM

    Thanks for putting your thoughts down. You all have been heavy on my heart this week.

    And you’re absolutely right on!

    there are tremendous gifts we receive when someone we love goes to the otherside and we’re left behind.

    the grief journey can be the path that enlightens us to this amazing miracle of our own lives.
    It can wake us up to being…rather than doing.

    The heart that’s broken wide open will be more able to give and receive love on the other side of hurting where there’s healing.

    blessed be…..to you all….during this painful, heart aching, mind boggling time.

  2. Josh permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:40 AM

    Well said my friend

  3. June 25, 2010 10:56 AM

    Beautifully said.

  4. June 25, 2010 12:37 PM

    beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  5. June 25, 2010 12:45 PM

    Hey Guy,
    I’ll be praying for you! I’m sorry to hear about your brother in law, losing family is never easy. Continue to let God show you His truth and love during this tough time. Thanks for your honesty

  6. Bruce Stillwagon permalink
    June 25, 2010 5:42 PM

    In case you haven’t read this before…
    HOW DO YOU LIVE YOUR DASH by Linda Ellis

    I read of a man who stood to speak
    At the funeral of a friend.
    He referred to the dates on her tombstone
    From the beginning…to the end.

    He noted that first came her date of birth
    And spoke the following date with tears,
    But he said what mattered most of all
    Was the dash between those years.

    For that dash represents all the time
    That she spent alive on earth…
    And now only those who loved her
    Know what that little line is worth.

    For it matters not, how much we own;
    The cars…the house…the cash,
    What matters is how we live and love
    And how we spend our dash.

    See remainder of poem here http://pslinstitute.com/dash.html

  7. June 25, 2010 9:52 PM

    That’s an awesome blog Guy! I felt like I was reading a chapter of a very well written book. It blessed me so much to see how God still gets glory in every situation of our lives…even the hardest ones! We are praying much for your whole family! May God Bless and Strengthen You!

    Karen Gillespie

  8. Bret Schuch permalink
    June 27, 2010 11:16 PM

    You nailed it my friend. Absolutely nailed it.

    Praying for God’s protection over your dear family this week. A special prayer for Cindy and for John and Sue, that the Lord would send His angels to cover them in His protective armor. The tragedy will really start to hit home even more without the army of visitors to distract them.

    Enjoyed meeting you. Blessings to you and Holly and your beautiful children.

  9. June 30, 2010 1:27 PM

    Praying for you, Holly, Sue and the rest of the family, Guy. I love you and pray God’s invasive tangible comfort into every one of you.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Bigger Picture « Centricity Music's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

