Skip to content

Favorite Movies of 2010

January 3, 2011

Happy New Year. I hope your holidays were wonderful. In our third post of favorites of 2010 I asked the staff at Centricity to share their favorite movies of the year.

John Mays

1. Good Hair

This documentary produced by Chris Rock is at once hilarious and mind-blowing. I love when a film introduces you to a world you never even knew existed.

2. Serephine

A French film that tells the true story of mid 19th century painter Séraphine de Senlis.  Certainly not without its sadness, but I loved the film’s affirmation of the creative spirit, and how powerful it can be to believe in someone who never knew to believe in themselves. Even though she died in an institution, the world is a more beautiful place because of her life.

3. Who Is Harry Nilsson

Anyone involved in music making should watch this documentary about Harry Nilsson… the man who the Beatles declared to be their “favorite American singer”. A tormented soul that left a lot of personal damage in his wake, but also a lot of great music.

4. Toy Story III

How in the world do you make Part III of anything and it still be good? I don’t know but Pixar does. In fact, it’s probably the best of the three. These guys set the bar REAL high, and it inspires me.

5. The Road

Everyone tells me I need to read the book (which I haven’t) but I loved this movie. It made me miss my Dad, but also feel so grateful for the relationship we were blessed to enjoy. Bring a hanky.

Honorable mentions… The Book Of Eli and Inception

Steve Ford

1. Inception

This movie is a symphony of filmmaking. It has a new perspective and a story that makes you think. I am sure most of you have seen it, so no more on this one.

2. Black Swan

This movie was engrossing. I could not take my eyes off the screen. It was beautiful and intense at the same time. The performance by Natalie Portman is world-class. Of course the music was outstanding.

3. Toy Story III

There are not a lot of threequels that can keep the story and emotion going, not only did this one do it, they may have topped the first two in both points. I loved the ending. Made me cry.

4. True Grit

Great story, Wonderful performance by Jeff Bridges. And it was directed by  my favorite directors, the Coen brothers. Nuff said.

5. Despicable Me

I know! Two animated movies. But I truly enjoyed this movie. It made me laugh, it was fun in 3D and had some “aaah” moments. And the line “its so fluffy I could die” has made it into our family vernacular. Honestly it was between this and How To Train Your Dragon. It was close but Despicable me wins by a line.

Jeff Berry

I saw 2 movies this year –

1. Despicable Me

2. The Princess and the Frog

Conor Farley

I had to make it my favorite TV Shows/Movies – I don’t see enough movies 🙂

1. Mad Men

This show is so well written and the characters are developed in a way that you connect with them despite their flaws.

2. 30 Rock

Always funny and well written, and not afraid to be silly.

3. Inception

Loved it

4.Harry Potter-

5.The entire 30 for 30 series on ESPN

It is incredible.  Shows the amazing connection between sport and humanity.

Guy Zabka

1. Inception

2. Up

3. Book of Eli

4. Date Night

5. Robin Hood

Rebekah Markowitz

1) Inception

2) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Pt. 1

3) Robin Hood

4) Shutter Island

Although this would have been much better had the ending not been so predictable

I don’t really have a 5th movie that I loved this year. I have hopes for Tron.

I thought movies, for the most part, were really disappointing this year. Topping the list of movies that I was really excited for, but ended up being a huge let down would be Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, The Last Airbender, and Alice in Wonderland. I will also throw in that the LOST series finale was a huge letdown, but I still love that show.

Jennifer Allen

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Hey, who doesn’t love Harry Potter?

2. The Runaways

Kristin Stewart nailed the character of Joan Jett

3. The Blind Side (Nov. 2009)

Admit it, you cried too

4. The Informant (Sept. 2009)

Hard to believe this actually happened!

5. Zombieland (Oct. 2009)

* I didn’t get to see a lot of movies this year in the theaters but honorable mentions are the last 3 that were released in late 2009, all of which, except for Zombieland, I saw in 2010

Jon Sell

1. Inception

Great movie with a new idea that has never been done before.

2. How to Train Your Dragon

The story was great!

3.Toy Story 3

because it’s Toy Story

4. Robin Hood-

I love the Robin hood story, so I liked this movie.  However, Disney’s cartoon version is still the best!

5.  The Book of Eli-

It was a good post apocalypse movie, and showed the importance of the scriptures.

Joanna Dee

1. Inception.

Mind-blowing.

2. Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 1.

Yes, I’m one of those crazy Harry Potter fans.

3. Dorian Gray.

One of my favorite books made into a spectacular movie.

4. Iron Man 2.

I love anything and everything comic book (I’m sounding more like a nerd by the minute).

5. Date Night.

Just a good fun movie.

Angelee Smith

1. Inception

Have you seen it?  Then you get it!

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Love Harry Potter!

3. Get Him To The Greek

I wish I didn’t like this as much as did, but it cracked me up.  I laughed throughout the whole thing.

4.The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Team Edward!

5. Going the Distance

Surprisingly great!  I loved Drew Barrymore & Justin Long in this!

Ben Stauffer

1. Inception

2. Shutter Island

3. Edge of Darkness

4. She’s Out of My League

5. LENNONYC

No comments yet

Leave a comment